Friday, November 14, 2008

Watch News: The prize-winners of the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2008

The prize-giving ceremony of the 8th Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix took place on November 13, at the Grand Théâtre of Geneva, illuminated by Gerry Hostetter.

The most prestigious prize, the “Aiguille d’Or” (“Golden Hand”), was given this year to the watch by F.P. Journe: The Centigraph Souverain. This new chronograph conquered the hearts and minds of the jury.

With a dozen different prize categories, the Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix honors the most creative watchmaking brands every year. Officially supported by the City and State of Geneva, the ceremony attracted the leading managers, journalists and aficionados of the watchmaking world. Presided by Pierre-François Unger in front of a crowd of more than 1500 guests, it was a not-to-be-missed event for international horology.

Adjudged by an international jury of recognized professionals (see the list on, the prizes consecrate the winners in various categories noted below as well as the Best Watchmaker Prize, the Jury’s Prize, the Public Prize and the “Golden Hand” Grand Prix.

The winning watches, in addition to all the other preselected timepieces, can be viewed until the 21st of November in the UBS Corraterie branch office in the centre of Geneva.

List of the prize-winners of the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2008

Grand Prix « l’Aiguille d’or » (Golden Hand Prize)- F.P. Journe, Centigraphe Souverain

Best Watchmaker Prize - Giulio Papi

Special Jury Prize - Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie

Favourite Ladies Watch - Piaget, Limelight Magic Hour

Favourite Men’s Watch - Vacheron Constantin, Quai de l’Ile

Favourite Design Watch - Concord, C1 Tourbillon Gravity

Favourite Jewellery Watch - Audemars Piguet, Millenary Pianoforte

Favourite Watch with complication - Jaeger-LeCoultre, Reverso Gyrotourbillon 2

Favourite Sports Watch - TAG Heuer, Grande Carrera Calibre 36 RS Caliper Chronographe

Favourite Full Calendar Watch - Audemars Piguet, Equation du Temps Squelette Jules Audemars

Public Prize - Maurice Lacroix, Starside Eternal Moo

Congratulations to all the winners as most selections like the JLC's Gyrotourbillon 2 & F.P. Journe Centigraphe Souverain seem to validate further the exceptional mastery of hi end watchmaking as well as the hard work being presented in today's horological industry although some of the other category winner choices remain to leave me befuddled.

Info via

No comments:

Daily thoughts, musings & interests about anything (mostly horology) that currently makes my soul & grey matter tick.